top of page

LET GO AND JOYFULLY WIN IT ALL!!

Updated: Aug 30, 2021

If you know Lana Henry (previously Lana Mayers), then you know that I am a generally happy individual. People always tell me that they don’t think they ever saw me angry or upset about anything. However, I am here to tell all of you now that this doesn’t automatically translate to mean that I have not had my share of trials and tribulations in my life. I have been taken advantage of, disrespected, abused and definitely hurt, and like everyone else, I suffered because of these negative situations in my life.


The thing is however, that I do my best every day not to let these situations trivialize the many blessings and treasures in my life. DISCLAIMER!!!! This is not automatic for us as human beings. It takes a lot of work because we all tend to look for all the negatives that happen in our lives. We expect things to go wrong and when they do, we focus on these things, to the point that they offset our entire, day, week, month, year and at times our entire lifetime.


The wonderful thing about my personal situation is that I was raise in the church and although a lot of my memories of church are of me being bored, just sitting patiently for the service to end so that I could socialize with the other younger member of the congregation before having to go home, the reality is that it gave me the basic understanding that in comparison to Jesus Christ, we have all fallen short.


Yes, I know that I have been hurt by people, and although I try my best to be a blessing to those around me, I also know for sure that I too have hurt others.

Knowing and understanding this allows me to be more tolerant of others. It helps me to stay humble and remember ... “Lana … you ain’t nuttin special!!!”.



Now please, do not think that I am saying we are to just sit and take the wrong doings that are, and will forever occur in our lives. These situations should always be used as learning experiences and stepping stones, and you must determine the best way to move on from them, but ensure that you always move on better and bigger.


My personal secret to joy is to remember the following:


1. I am no better that anyone else. Humility is important.


2. I am in control of my emotions and they do not control me.


3. Although someone has done me wrong, it doesn’t automatically mean that they are a horrible person.


4. Holding onto bitterness, anger and hurt doesn’t negatively affect the other person, however, it does take a toll on me and I refuse to give another person the power to steal my happiness and more importantly my joy.


5. I will continue to look to God for deliverance from all negativity and maintain my joyful spirit.


When we can master these concepts, we are all sure to be better able to:


LET GO AND JOYFULLY WIN IT ALL!!






19 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page